The Beauty that is Puerto Princesa: Honda Bay

Standard

If there would be such a thing called paradise, I would always attribute it to Palawan. And the moment I set foot on the beautiful sandy shores of Palawan, I knew I had to come back for more. I discovered the beauty of Palawan when I was 7, and I came back last 2008 because I knew I just had to. Its beauty is insatiable that I would never grow tired of being a happy traveler in Palawan. I know I will always come back for more of Palawan!



Puerto Princesa is more than awesome. Setting foot on Palawan gives every Filipino a sense of pride because Palawan is truly world class and truly at par with other famed beaches from other countries. I can say this even if I haven’t been able to the other parts of Palawan. I know I have yet to cross out other must-see locations in Palawan like Coron, El Nido, and Amanpulo, but still, Puerto Princesa managed to take my breath away to the point I was gasping for air because of too much excitement!

You may now close your jaw.

We managed to do an Island Hopping tour of the beautiful Honda Bay of Palawan. “The Last Frontier” as it is called, it plays host to a multitude of powder white sand beach resorts in different islets with shallow reefs surrounding the bay. Nature lovers and adventurers like me are drawn into the place because not only is it serene and tranquil, it makes you be in perfect communion with nature with the presence of all the mangroves, sandbars, marine sanctuaries, magnificent landscape, fishing villages and rain forests. Luckily, we were able to visit many of the islands during our day trip in Honda Bay.


One of the most famous islands is perhaps the Snake Island, because of the shoreline being shaped like that of a snake’s tongue with a beach teeming with lovely shells. Another island popular to tourists is the Starfish Island which is a popular island destination because of the many starfishes inhabiting the island.  Other islands worth noting are the Canon, Pandan, Lu-Ii Island (from the word “”lulubog-lilitaw””, meaning floating and sinking island, which means that the island can only be during low tide and gets submerged in water during high tide), Señorita Island (the breeding site of lapu-lapu fish).

Starfish Island

One on one interaction with the starfishes!

Mangroves are also plenty within Honda Bay. Trees willfully get their nourishment from the sea waters inside Honda Bay

Puerto Princesa, Honda Bay for that matter, is definitely one of the destinations that you should add to your list of “to-visit” places for your travel ideas. It’s self-friendly, relationship-friendly, family-friendly– meaning ANYONE would definitely enjoy their adventure in Palawan!

And I promise, I will come back for more of you!

About Mia G.

Teacher Mia. A Happy Girl. Chaser of dreams. Believer of living out each beautiful dream. A Full-time Preschool Teacher with a part-time job of being a happy traveler and wanderer. Co-founder of Destination Getaways Travel and Tours! A Proud Filipina who wants to travel the world one place at a time, one breathtaking moment at a time. Join the personal accounts of my adventures and misadventures and random experiences in our big and beautiful classroom-- the world. Share my experiences on spontaneity, excitement, adventure, travel, exploration, gastronomic encounters, and everything in between!

3 responses »

    • Yes! Please do come and visit Palawan! Its beauty is insatiable! Palawan is such a priceless wonder that the Philippines has! 🙂

      Thank you for your comment! I have permanently moved from blogspot to wordpress! I’d be staying here from now on. I hope you continue to drop by my blogs!

Leave a comment