I LOVE JAPAN: Tokyo Disney Sea

Standard

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.”

These are the words of the cultural icon who inspired millions and millions of lives with his works, contributions to entertainment, and lifelong influences of keeping dreams alive an making them come true– no other than Walt Disney. At first glance, Disneyland may just be an ordinary theme park, but for many, it really is a place where magic happens, and where dreams do come true. And I will always consider myself part of those people who deem Disneyland as the happiest place on Earth.

Disneyland is indeed one of those places that I wouldn’t get tired of!  I don’t think I will ever outgrow Disneyland as I will always enjoy every moment I spend in this magical place!  Even during the planning stages of this Japan trip, I knew that I just had to devote an entire day of making dreams come true in Disneyland! We were also very fortunate to have made it to Tokyo Disneyland’s 30th year, the “Happiness Year”.

Because we only had 1 free day left in Tokyo, we had to choose between Tokyo Disneyland and Tokyo Disneysea. They said Tokyo Disneyland catered more to the younger children, while Tokyo Disneysea catered to the older and more adventurous crowd. Knowing our love for thrill, exhilaration and excitement, Tokyo Disneysea was the runaway winner (but if we had an extra day, we would still visit Tokyo Disneyland for sure!)

Disneyland Hotel! We would have wanted to stay here, but we did not have extra budget for this lavish accommodation!

The rides were pretty much similar to Disneyland California and California Adventure, only that most instructions and story themes were delivered in Japanese. But among all the Disneyland theme parks I’ve visited, I can say that Tokyo Disneysea was the most aesthetically appealing and the most beautifully designed. The feeling of bringing in magic, experiencing magic, and living the magic was truly brought to life making each park-goer feel as if they were in another dimension!  Each specific area in the park had a particularly different feel, making every park goer revel in amusement and amazement!

Yes. Photo opportunities are limitless! I mean boundless. ENDLESS! Think of any adjective, Tokyo Disneysea would have an attraction for it.

But this is perhaps our favorite photo op spot in Tokyo Disneysea! We got transported to Venice in a matter of minutes!

We were fortunate to have visited Japan during Spring Time making the theme of Disneyland as Spring Time Adventure, filling out the entire theme park with blossoming flowers in truest perfection of springtime. Yes, it was indeed a manicured theme park!

Mascots, princesses, and Disney characters were also happily welcoming every park goer they encountered and even exhibited their silly antics to them!

And we couldn’t help to be mascots ourselves too!

We’ve had our share of unanticipated scare moments too!

Maybe the only downside I experienced in Disneyland is that they do not allow their visitors to use any tripod inside the park premises. Hence, we had to either take each other’s photos or make an attempt to do a selfie with hopes of getting the nice background in the picture.

I know 8 days is too short for a traveler like me to generalize their people, but this is just my observation and have found immense happiness observing and participating in their culture. During our 8-day stay in Japan, one of my most prominent observations is that the Japanese are particularly punctual, meticulous, and very organized.  They have this particular sense of order, to the point that they almost seem like robots because of their innate precision and accuracy of doing their everyday tasks. Because of this, I found them to be very, very serious with everything that they do, meaning that I rarely saw them take a break or engage themselves in casual chitchats while lazing around through the day.  And for me, a smile on their faces is indeed a beautiful sight to see– a break from all the monotony. I did not see the Japanese smile too often during our 8-day stay in Japan because they were always in a hurry and rushing through train stations to get to work. But you know what? I saw the Japanese beaming with extraordinary happiness when they were in Disneyland.Even the magic rubbed in on the most serious people that I have encountered in my life. But serious as they may be, they are the most genuine and kindhearted people that I have encountered as well–people who are willing to go the extra mile to help out a strangers in their country.

I love just as how Disneyland and Disneysea rubs in on everybody. A day in Disneyland is definitely a day well spent. Particularly in my Tokyo experience, I will never forget how Disneysea made an already amazing vacation even more amazing!  Here’s to capping off our last full day in Japan! We’ll be coming back for more amazing experiences!

If I come back to Japan, on my next visit, I would still devote an entire day to have fun in my happy place called Tokyo Disneysea!

About Mia G.

Teacher Mia. A Happy Girl. Chaser of dreams. Believer of living out each beautiful dream. A Full-time Preschool Teacher with a part-time job of being a happy traveler and wanderer. Co-founder of Destination Getaways Travel and Tours! A Proud Filipina who wants to travel the world one place at a time, one breathtaking moment at a time. Join the personal accounts of my adventures and misadventures and random experiences in our big and beautiful classroom-- the world. Share my experiences on spontaneity, excitement, adventure, travel, exploration, gastronomic encounters, and everything in between!

Leave a Reply

