United States: Big Bear Lake, California

Standard

I consider myself as one of those children who have always had that dream of tasting snow freshly falling down from the sky. Couple that with lying down on fresh snow as I wave my hands and feet up and down, side by side as I giggle like an innocent child. Yes, that’s me fulfilling my childhood dream of making a snow angel. The cold seeped through my bones, but the experience was definitely something that I would never forget. Snow was indeed a  first and a special experience for me!

It was Snow Time indeed as we experienced our first snow in Big Bear Lake, California. Big Bear is home to Southern California’s winter playground! It’s just a short drive away to play in the snow.We drove around 3 hours (with holiday traffic) from Los Angeles climbing 6,790 feet with almost freezing temperature to marvel and revel at fresh and real mountain snow in Big Bear! And yes Big Bear was indeed loaded with winter activities! Definitely, our White Christmas would not be so white without the snow!

quality sibling snow time

There are lots of things to do (“a lot” is definitely an understatement) in Big Bear. But considering our very amateur skills with snow as well as the holiday demand for the equipment, we decided to just enjoy the snow first hand and maybe try the snow activities another time. You can try the Alpine slide at Magic Mountain, or try biking, bowling, fishing, and boating. Camping is also a popular activity and of course hiking, skiing and snowboarding. There are also tour services but if you are on the adventurous side, you might as well try the Zipline Tours and of course the Helicopter Tours to hover around Big Bear.

After playing with snow like little children, we strolled around the Christmas Village of Big Bear where it seemed like it was Christmas all year round! Walking around in real snow, with such mediocre winter clothes was definitely a difficult ordeal for me, considering that I grew up in a tropical country for mostly 23 years. But nevertheless, the snow was priceless and the chill-to-the-bone cold was nothing compared to the happiness my first real snow experience brought me.

I am so proud to have made my first snow angel! Thank you for the snow experience but I think I could not stand to ever live during winter! One day of snow was enough, thank you!

About Mia G.

Teacher Mia. A Happy Girl. Chaser of dreams. Believer of living out each beautiful dream. A Full-time Preschool Teacher with a part-time job of being a happy traveler and wanderer. Co-founder of Destination Getaways Travel and Tours! A Proud Filipina who wants to travel the world one place at a time, one breathtaking moment at a time. Join the personal accounts of my adventures and misadventures and random experiences in our big and beautiful classroom-- the world. Share my experiences on spontaneity, excitement, adventure, travel, exploration, gastronomic encounters, and everything in between!

Leave a Reply

